Fundamentals of

shpslogo.jpg (6992 bytes)


4. Pentatonic Minor Scale.

a. A Pentatonic minor scale is constructed starting on the first degree of a natural minor scale. A Pentatonic minor scale contains the tonic (1), mediant (flat 3), subdominant (4), dominant (5), and subtonic (flat 7) of a natural minor scale (Figure 5-6).

Figure 5-6: Scale Degrees in Pentatonic Minor.

b. The Pentatonic minor scale corresponds to a black key scale on the piano keyboard from E to E (Figure 5-7).

Figure 5-7: E flat Pentatonic Minor Scale on Piano Keyboard.

c. The tones omitted are the active tone and tendency tone which form half steps in natural minor: the supertonic (2) and submediant (6).

Content Provider: U.S. Army
Publisher: SweetHaven Publishing Services

Copyright 2005, Free-Ed.Net
All rights reserved

Last Updated: March 31, 2012